Super Easy, Southern Peach Cobbler

Super Easy, Southern Peach Cobbler
Super Easy, Southern Peach Cobbler

My In-laws had an impromptu cookout today… and as usual I was expected to bring a dessert. In my sleepy haze (I was notified of this event at 9 am and I’m a late riser on weekends) I tried to figure out what to bake.

My first thought was of course chocolate. I’m ALWAYS thinking of chocolate… I can put chocolate on a piece of cardboard and be a happy girl. But… Not all of my wife’s family are chocolate lovers!! I KNOOOOOWW!!!! I don’t know what happened to them to make them not love choco!

Then of course fruit came to mind. I’m a little tired of blueberries… If you check my Instagram you can see that I’ve been a blueberry and strawberry fiend for the past few weeks. And I didn’t want a pie. I wasn’t in the head space to worry about the thing setting or not setting.

But what does that leave? It IS summer… and it’s a cookout…

COBBLER! Peach cobbler!! Yesss!

Being the southern girl that I am, I’ve made a few cobblers in my life. They’re always pretty much on the easy side but sometimes that darned topping can get tricky. I don’t like a doughy topping… Like the kind that comes from using Bisquick (a southern staple). And I’ve used some recipes that made the topping a little more like a buttermilk biscuit. But drier. Not too fond of that either…

But the recipe below is PERFECT! Buttery topping with flavorful peaches! LOVE IT! And I stole a little technique from The Kitchn for putting the topping on the crust that I liked. It makes it sooooo easy. So easy that it took only 10 minutes to assemble…including peeling and cutting the peaches. I popped it in the oven and showered and dressed… and it was ready!!!

This will become your go to! I promise!!

Don’t forget to try this recipe out with alllllll different kinds of fruit!!! It can really work for anything! Switch your fruit to whatever is in season!

Oh and WARNING!!! I’m Louisianan and I LOVE super sweet desserts (just like my iced tea). If you don’t like candy sweet then ease up on the sugar in the peaches.

 

SUPER Easy Southern Peach Cobbler

Filling:

3 to 3 1/2 peaches, peeled and sliced

3/4 Cup granulated sugar

1/2 Teaspoon cinnamon

Juice from 1/2 of a lemon

Place peeled and sliced peaches in a large bowl. Add lemon juice, sugar and cinnamon. Toss to coat. Pour into 8×8 baking dish.

image (7)

 

Topping:

1 3/4 Cup flour

1 3/4 Cup Granulated Sugar

1/4 Teaspoon Kosher Salt

12 Tablespoons butter , melted and slightly cooled (I used salted… Its all I had on hand)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

 

Whisk together the flour, sugar and salt in a small mixing bowl. Slowly pour in the melted butter and mix just til combined.

image (8)

The dough should be a little wet and crumbly (kind of like making a crumble topping) but should hold together when pressed between your fingers.

image (10)

 

Once the dough is made, take a few fingerfuls of it and press together into a small disc.

Place each disc over the peach filling. I did rows of three but that will change depending on the size or your dough discs.

image (9)

 

As you can see, I’m not very precise when I’m rushing… But that doesn’t matter. It will still come out perfect!

I had topping leftover so I just put it over the naked pieces of peaches!

Pop in the oven and bake for 45 minutes or until the juices are bubbling and the topping is golden brown!!!

That’s it!!!

Serve hot with ice cream… or serve room temperature as is.

IMG_0634

Once you pull it out your gonna wanna tear into it IMMEDIATELY! But alas…mine was for family so I had to just let it cool and wait…

 

So cruel!!!

 

Leave a Reply

