Social Media S’mores

 

Social Media S'mores cookies from The Baking Pointe

 

I have a confession.

I spend a lot of time on social media…

I mean A LOT of time…

And no, I’m not particularly proud of that fact but…I’m addicted… and don’t plan on getting help anytime soon.

Everyday on my Facebook feed there are hundreds of little eye catchy things: Animals doing adorable things, the latest ridiculous viral video, and if you’re a foodie, TONS of quick recipe videos.

I’ve always wondered which ones work and which ones were just thrown together by companies to sell a product or get you to follow their fan page. I usually only trust the ones that come from food bloggers that I follow or ones from reputable food brands.

But today… I decided to do a little test on a random Graham Cracker cookie recipe that was in my feed. It was, of course, in the form of a 1 minute video of a woman showing the ingredients and putting them into a bowl, while text of what they were popped up on the screen. There was an accompanying, short recipe in the post. It looked simple enough…but… DOES IT WORK… Is it tasty or would they not come out like it looked on the video?

Well… I went for it… But as I was going along I realized that I needed to alter the instructions a little. The first thing I noticed is it said to bake for only 7 minutes… That was a no… It was more like 10 minutes before it was done.

The original recipe called for chocolate chips… I nixed the chocolate chips altogether!!! I KNOW!! GASP!!!! But I knew I wanted an almost traditional s’more so I didn’t need the chocolate chips

And it didn’t tell you the best way to distribute the cookie dough on the pan. The recipe just said grease a pan and bake… I found that the dough was SUPER wet and sticky (even more so than a chocolate chip cookie recipe) and the drop method made them spread WAY too much. Taking a tablespoon of dough and flattening it on a baking sheet lined with parchment worked a lot better for making consistent cookie sizes.

The taste of the cookies though… was GOOD! Like really good! YUMMMMM!

I took them a step further and made them s’mores by sandwiching a little Nutella and marshmallow between two cookies! SOOOOO GOOD! And filling!

Try them out!!

Social Media S’mores (makes about a dozen cookies):

1 Stick of butter

1 Cup Packed Brown Sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 Egg

1 1/2 Cup Graham Cracker Crumbs (about 1 pack of crackers)

3/4 Cup All Purpose Flour

1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda

1/4 Teaspoon salt

Nutella

Jumbo Marshmallows

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and 2 cookie sheets with parchment.

Cream the butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl until fluffy. Add in the vanilla and egg and mix to combine.

Whisk together the graham cracker crumbs, flour, baking soda and salt in a small bowl.

Gradually add the flour mixture to the sugar/butter mixture. Mix until just combined.

Take a tablespoon of cookie dough and shape into a ball. Place on the cookie sheet and flatten it out…just a little… Do the same for the remainder of cookie dough.

Bake cookies in the oven for 10 minutes or just until cookies look set in the center. DO NOT OVERBAKE!

image (16)

Remove from oven and let cool until you are able to handle them without them falling apart.

 

Once cookies are cooled, take on cookie and spread Nutella on the bottom and place on a plate or serving dish.

Take 1 or 2 marshmallows and pop in the microwave on a microwave safe dish. Microwave for a few seconds (until it swells). Put the melted marshmallow on top of the Nutella cookie and top with another cookie!!!!

That’s it!!!!

SOOOOO SIMPLE!!! And ridiculously delish!!! You can get the kids to help you with this one! They would love it!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

