Blueberry Lemon Quick Bread

 

 

Blueberry Lemon Quick Bread. Made with fresh blueberries, fresh lemon and a touch of Greek yogurt, this bread is perfect for breakfast! Or for a light dessert!
Blueberry Lemon Quick Bread. Made with fresh blueberries, fresh lemon and a touch of Greek yogurt, this bread is perfect for breakfast! Or for a light dessert!

 

It’s nearing the end of the week and I’m starting to run out of baking supplies.

There’s only a lonely stick of  butter in the house… I’m running low on brown sugar and my confectioners sugar is non existent.

But this morning I wanted to bake for breakfast! I racked my brain for what I could bake with no butter and no milk.

I opened all of the cabinets and just stared for a second. A long second. Then it came to me!

QUICK BREAD!!!

Of course I went for blueberry quick bread. While I may be out of everything else, I NEVER run out of sugar, flour, or blueberries. And I just happened to have a container of greek yogurt and some lemon!

Perfect!

This recipe came out PERFECT!!!! It’s super moist while being crispy around the edges. Kind of like a muffin. There is blueberries in EVERY bite and the Greek yogurt and lemon adds a tang that makes the bread not overly sweet.

I toasted and buttered it and had it with my coffee. Soooooo good!

 

Lemon Blueberry Quick Bread:

1 1/2 Cup plus 2 Tablespoons All purpose flour

1 Cup Sugar

1 Teaspoon Baking Powder

1/4 Teaspoon Baking Soda

1/4 Teaspoon Salt

1/2 Cup vegetable oil

1/2 Cup Greek Yogurt

2 Eggs

zest and juice of half a lemon

1 Teaspoon Vanilla

1 Cup of Blueberries (can 1/4 Cup more if you like)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Line a loaf pan with parchment (leaving a 1/2 inch overhang) and spray with cooking spray.

Whisk 1/2 Cup flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and lemon zest in a large mixing bowl and set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk together the oil, yogurt eggs and lemon juice and vanilla.

Fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.

In a small bowl toss the blueberries with 2 tablespoons of flour. Gently fold the blueberries into the bread batter.

Pour batter into prepared loaf pan and bake for 50-60 minutes or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the middle of the bread comes out clean.

Remove from oven and let cool for about an hour. Use the parchment overhang to remove the bread from the pan. Let cool completely or serve a little warm.

image (22)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

