The Perfect Shortbread Recipe (Yes I realize it’s the 4th of July)

These cookies are Soooo buttery and with just the right crisp! These would be perfect to add to your Christmas go -to recipes!

 

Another confession.

You guys are getting to know a lot about me. I just thought I should get the weird stuff out of the way first.

My confession is… I am NOT a summer girl!!

Like, I could do without the season.

Not to say I don’t appreciate the days off, a good swim or a drippy cone of ice cream. I do! I really do!!

I just like the crisp are of fall much better!! I mean, pumpkins, sweaters, crisp air, apple picking!! What’s not to like?

I spend all of my summer days counting down to the fall. So the start of July this year is no different. As a matter of fact, not only do I start my fall countdown but I also start my Christmas countdown. Yes, I know there are a lot of you out there like, “Slow down!!! Enjoy summer!!” but I’m all ” How many days is it til the leaves start falling and I can go Halloween/ Thanksgiving/ Christmas decor shopping!!”

So in honor of my annual, trying to pretend it’s not summer tradition… I’m going to do a series of Christmas in July posts!!!

Today’s post is my PERFECT shortbread cookie recipe!

And I mean PERFECT (not to toot my own horn *toot toot*)!!

It comes out a perfect texture- cause we all know that shortbread can be SUPER tough and rock hard, AND its just the right sweetness- because I’ve had some blaaaand shortbread in my time… Rock hard and paper bland is definitely a no go!!

Anyway… here is the recipe. I usually use a cookie cutter because… CHRISTMAS!! But today I just cut them into rustic shapes (and by rustic I mean lazy) because… ummm it’s the day before Independence Day and Santa is not really acceptable today or tomorrow… to most folks anyway.

All jokes aside, this time of the year is the perfect time to get all of your holiday recipes in order. Summer is slow for most people so it’s good to get it in before the rush of back to school comes up. We all know how quickly that time frame goes… First it’s back to school, then Halloween, then Thanksgiving, then Christmas… It’s all really back to back, so I’ve found a lot of success (and sanity ) in prepping RIDICULOUSLY early!!

Anyway, check out the recipe! To make it summer acceptable I served with strawberries and a blueberry glaze. Totally optional!

Fool Proof Shortbread: About 1 hr 30 mins including chill time- makes about 12 large cookies

3/4 Cups Butter

1/2 Cup Granulated Sugar

1/2 Cup Confectioner’s Sugar (plus more for rolling)

1 teaspoon Vanilla

2 Cups All Purpose Flour

1/4 Teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour and salt. Set aside.

In the bowl of stand mixer using the paddle attachment, cream together butter and sugars until combined. Add the vanilla and mix in til just combined.

Add the flour mixture and mix until just combined. Dough should look crumbly but hold together when squeezed between your fingers.

Turn dough out onto plastic wrap. Shape it into a disc, wrap it in the plastic wrap and chill in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.

image (27)

 

After chilling (the dough, not you), unwrap and place  onto surface lightly sprinkled with confectioner’s sugar. Roll dough to 1/2 inch thick. Cut out into shapes.

Place on cookie sheet at least 1 inch apart and bake for 20 minutes or until edges are golden brown.

Let cool completely.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Shortbread Recipe (Yes I realize it’s the 4th of July)

Leave a Reply

