Basic But Brilliant Banana Bread

 

From Scratch Banana Nut Bread with a hint of Cream Cheese

So many “B’s”. I know, I know.

But it’s true.

This morning I decided to bake Banana Nut bread with our overly ripe bananas.

I’m not really what you would call a Banana Nut bread fan. I don’t really like nuts in bread or cookies, and while I like an ACTUAL banana, banana flavoring is not my fave (my wife’s either), and when I do eat it, I’m SUPER picky about it.

My mother and my mother-in -law, however, LOVE the stuff.

I remember my mom pushing it on me as a kid, saying it was a healthy alternative for breakfast. You know, in the 90s, anything with nuts or fruit in it was healthy.And while I’m sure it’s healthier than a donut, I’m almost positive if it comes from Entenmann’s or the local 7/11 can’t be all that nutritious (My mom wasn’t a baker. Anything baked that wasn’t a sweet potato pie, buttermilk pie or apple pie came from a store. My dad was the cook/baker in the house).

In my early 20’s, while doing an internship at a local bakery in Brooklyn, I realized that FRESH Banana Nut bread was WORLDS better than the sugary, store bought stuff. Before that I had written it off. The fresh baked version was more moist with a better banana flavor (duh… fresh bananas). THIS I could do.

So from there, I searched and searched for a recipe that was just as good as bakery’s recipe. The one from the bakery was developed to make loaves and loaves at a time so I couldn’t use that one. But I found one from the Food Network that worked. It’s changed over time and I’ve added some adjustments to make a damn good loaf of Banana Nut bread… Super simple, but super moist and flavorful.

Try it out!

Banana Nut Bread: (adapted from the Food Network); 50 minute bake time

1 1/4 Cup All Purpose Flour

1 Teaspoon Baking Soda

1/2 Teaspoon Salt

2 Large Eggs

1 Teaspoon Vanilla

1/2 Cup Granulated Sugar

1/2 Cup Brown Sugar

1 Stick Unsalted Butter, softened

3 Tablespoons Cream Cheese, softened

3/4 Cups chopped Walnuts (toast them for better flavor)

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Lightly butter a 9 inch loaf pan and set aside.

Whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt in a small bowl. Set aside

Whisk together the eggs and vanilla in a small bowl. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer with a paddle attachment, cream together the butter, sugars and cream cheese until light and fluffy.

Add the egg mixture to the sugar mixture and mix until fully combined.

Remove bowl from mixer. Gently fold in the flour mixture until just combined. Add the walnuts and fold in until mixed throughout. DO NOT OVER MIX!

Pour into prepared pan and bake for 45- 50 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Let cool on cooling rack for 1 hour. Then turn the bread out of the pan and let completely cool on cooling rack.

Leave a Reply

