Brown Butter Blondies

I am a chocoholic…

A TRUE chocoholic! I love chocolate on everything!

I would eat it on spaghetti Will Farrell, Elf, style if I could. Seriously.

But today wasn’t a chocolate type of day… As a matter of fact is wasn’t a baking day at all (Ummmm… 91 Degrees) but I made it happen anyway.

I needed something that I could get in and out of the oven as fast as possible. And something that could help out this ULTIMATE sweet tooth that I had. And, keep in mind, I EXHAUSTED with fruit pies and tarts.

So… what did I make…

Well… Blondies, cuz, YUMMMMM…

image (1).jpeg

 

My wife LOVES when I bake with Brown Butter so I used my typical brownie recipe and just swapped out the brown sugar for light brown sugar and  butter for brown butter. Soooooo much yum!! Kinda tastes like butterscotch!!!

Oooooohhhh butterscotch!!! That would have been EVERYTHING in these… Try it and let me know how yummy it is.

Anyway!!

Here is the recipe!!!!

And don’t worry, I won’t be mad if you just used your favorite blondie recipe and tried it with brown butter. As long as you brown the butter correctly it should be just as tasty!

Brown Butter Blondies: 35-45 minutes bake time

1 Cup Flour

1 Teaspoon Baking Powder

1 Cup Light Brown Sugar

1/2 Cup Granulated Sugar

1 Stick Butter

1 Large Egg, slightly beaten

1 Teaspoon Vanilla

1 Teaspoon Fresh Lemon Juice

 

Preheat oven to 35o degrees.

Lightly butter an 8×8 square pan.

Make Brown Butter. Here are the instructions for making the butter from an earlier post.

Put butter in a medium sauce pan. Melt over medium heat. Watch the butter closely. Lower heat to low and let the butter continue to simmer until brown bits start to form on the bottom of the pan. The butter should turn a light amber color and start to smell a little nutty. Once the bits form, the color changes and you smell the butter (NOT a burnt smell… There’s a fine line between brown butter and burnt!!! The butter should smell really good and fragrant) remove from heat and let cool slightly.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda. Set aside.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine the brown and granulated sugar and cooled brown butter. Stir together with a wooden spoon. Add the egg, lemon juice and vanilla and mix into the sugar.  Add the dry ingredients and stir until just combined.

Pour batter into greased pan and spread evenly.

Bake for 30-40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the blondies comes out clean. I personally like slightly under baked brownies and blondies so I usually remove at 30 minutes… Just sayin…

Enjoy the YUMMM!

 

 

Leave a Reply

