Soft and Chewy Snickerdoodles

July 25!!!

Wow! It seems like it was just May!

This is the time of year I really start yearning for the fall. Not just because it’s unbearably hot this time of year, but because the cooler weather fall brings ushers in the season of cinnamon and nutmeg. Of warm flavors like pumpkin and spice. Around this time of year I’ve had enough of tank tops and shorts and want it cool enough for fuzzy socks and fluffy sweaters.

This is what I start thinking about during the dog days of summer… Alas… that time of year is still a good 2 months away, so I wait… In the air conditioning… with sweet tea… and watch romantic comedies and The Great British Baking Show.

I also have, as I’ve said before, started trying out recipes that I may want to do for my holiday season.

You may think it’s too early, but think about it… Today is July 25… Christmas day is exactly 5 months away. Not to mention we actually start all that crazy holiday baking late November, so that really only leaves 4 months! Not to freak you out or anything.

I think about the holiday season year round so as not to get overwhelmed later. I may be making ice cream or strawberry ice box pie during the summer days, but when I settle down at the end of the night I’m thinking about trying out a new gingerbread recipe or researching how to make a classic Christmas pudding.

Since I have all these ideas swirling around in my head constantly, I had a thought.

On the 25th of each month leading up to December, I’m going to give you guys one of my favorite tried and true Christmas recipes. These won’t be SUPER fancy, we’ll save that for the season, they will just basically be the Christmas staples that everyone should have under their belt. That way you can just whip out a Christmas cookie at the drop of the hat.

For this month’s recipe I decided to go with the Snickerdoodle.

This deliciously, chewy snickerdoodle has cripsy edges with a soft center. Not to mention the perfect cinnamon/sugar crust all over it!

I went with this cookie because there are sooooo many ways to make this cookie. I’ve had the small fat, puffy ones. The cakey ones. Some are super crunchy, there are some that are (gasp) a little dryer in texture. It’s not easy to get them just right. Everyone has their preference as to which texture works well for them and their family and the only way to know is to try recipe after recipe.

My FAVORITE snickerdoodle is super chewy. Almost the perfect sugar cookie with a crust of cinnamon and sugar all over it. I’ve tried a million different ways to make these and this recipe is YUMMY. Especially if you go for a thinner, softer, less cakey snickerdoodle.

 

Soft and Chewy Snickerdoodle (makes 18-20 large cookies)

Cookie:

2 1/2 Cups All Purpose Flour

2 Teaspoons Cream of Tartar

1 Teaspoon Baking Soda

1/4 Teaspoon Salt

1 1/2 Cups Granulated Sugar

2 Sticks Unsalted Butter

2 Large Eggs

2 Teaspoons Pure Vanilla Extract

Topping:

4 Tablespoons Granulated Sugar

2 Teaspoons Ground Cinnamon

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In another small bowl, combine the sugar and cinnamon for the topping and set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Make sure to scrape down sides of the bowl. Add in the eggs and vanilla, mix until fully incorporated.

Turn the mixer to low and gradually add in the dry ingredients, scraping down the sides of the bowl.

Once combined scoop 2-3 tablespoons of the dough. Toss it between your hands to form a 2 inch ball. Toss each ball in the cinnamon/sugar mixture and place AT LEAST 2 inches apart on the cookie sheet

Bake cookies for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and let them cool completely.

*TIP: These tend to spread a lot. Make sure you place the cookies far enough apart so that the edges of each cookie don’t bake together and give you a cookie cake!!! I admittedly don’t follow my own advice when I’m making them just for home. But they are prettier when more precise about the size and placement… ya know… for when you plan for others to eat them*

Leave a Reply

