Peach Crisp

Wow!!

Can you believe summer is almost over??

Most of the kids here in NYC are back to school shopping and getting in gear for the upcoming year. I know some of my southern friends have kids that have already started back! Crazy!!  The summer FLEW by!

Since the summer is coming to a close, that means that my ballet teaching days are starting up again.

IMG_1144.JPG

This entire week I’ve been in the studio with my girls trying to get them back in shape for the new dance season. I went in thinking I was going to work them out, and I ended up just as sore as they are!!! Maybe taking 2 months off to chill, bake and eat wasn’t the best thing for a ballet teacher to do! My poor calf muscles are beyond angry with me!!!!!!

Right down the street from my dance studio, there is a little farmers market. It’s only there on Thursdays and it’s super small, but I always try to give the vendors my business. Maybe it will grow if more people support it!

Today the peaches looked extra yummy! So… I brought a bunch home to bake with (and eat, duh!). Since I was completely exhausted by the time I got home, I decided to keep it simple and take one of my fall recipes that I usually make with apples… and turn it into a late summer treat by using peaches.

IMG_7739 (1)

What did I bake???

A peach crisp… Like an apple crisp, with peaches!

Baked crisp made with peaches! Perfect lazy, light summer dessert. So quick and easy!
Baked crisp made with peaches! Perfect lazy, light summer dessert. So quick and easy!

I stole this recipe from Willams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking, one of my go to recipe books. I’ve had this book for at least 8 years and it never fails. I remember most of the recipes by heart!! That’s how much I’ve used it. Especially in my early baking days!

Try it out!! And look for the book if you can! It’s a great baking staple!

*NOTE- I used white peaches because that was all the farmer’s market had… It’s a more subtle flavor, so I would suggest yellow peaches if you want a really peachy flavor. But the white ones were still delicious!*

Willams-Sonoma Peach Crisp

5-6 Ripe but firm peaches, peeled, pitted and sliced

1 Cup All Purposes Flour

1/2 Cup Rolled Oats (NOT instant)

2/3 Cup plus 5 tablespoons granulated sugar

2/3 Cup Brown Sugar

1/2 Teaspoon Cinnamon

1/2 Teaspoon Salt

6 Tablespoons Butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Place peaches in a medium bowl and toss with 5 tablespoons of granulated sugar. Set aside.

In a small bowl, combine the flour, 2/3 Cup granulated sugar, brown sugar, oats, cinnamon and salt. Stir until well combined. Pour in melted butter. Stir until evenly moistened.

Place peaches in a 8x* square baking dish. Sprinkle crumble topping over peaches.

Bake for 35-40 minutes or until crumble topping is golden brown.

Let cool for 10 minutes before serving.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Peach Crisp

Leave a Reply

