Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie

It’s been such a busy week!

There’s been dance classes, volunteer work, church activites… My wife was a New York Fashion week makeup artist…

Soooooo much happening.

But somehow I managed to get a Keratin treatment on my hair AND bake…

Well… Kinda bake.

This morning I woke up early to watch the morning news shows and bake. It’s been almost a week since anything sweet has come out of my kitchen!! A WEEK!!!! sigh…

So in an attempt to feel like myself, I made an early morning supermarket run for breakfast and something sweet that wouldn’t take too much time but would still be AMAZING. You know, a bang for your buck kinda thing.

I walked around the grocery store aimlessy for a while because, honestly, I hadn’t had my coffee yet. But while walking past the spreads section (by that I mean, the almond butter, peanut butter etc) I knew what I had to do… I HAD to make another pie…And it HAD to be chocolate and it HAD to be peanut butter.

So… That’s what I did.


I kept it simple since…well I was watching Rachel Ray and I only wanted this entire thing to take about 20 minutes plus chill time (the pie, not me).

The only thing I warn you about is that I used homemade whipped cream in the recipe. Which we all know only takes about 2 minutes to make but… just putting that out there.

Anyway, here goes. Try it out!! The filling is addictive! I kept eating it by the spoonful before it even made it to the pie crust. Jusssssst peanut butter pie filling at 10 am… *shrugs* If you’re reading this blog and other baking blogs, I’m almost positive you’re not judging right now…

Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie

Crust

1 Package Oreo Cookies, Finely crushed (36 Cookies)

8 Tablespoons Butter (melted)

Filling

1 Cup Creamy Peanut Butter

1 8 oz Package Cream Cheese (room temperature)

1 Cup plus 2 tablespoons Confectioner’s Sugar

1/2 Cup Heavy Cream

 

Topping

1 Cup Chocolate Chips ( I used Dark Chocolate)

1 Tablespoon Peanut Butter

1/2 Cup Heavy Cream

 

 

In a food processor or using a ziplock bag, finely crush the cookies. If you’re using a food processor, just pulse until crushed. If using the ziplock method, put cookies in ziplock and pound the cookies with a rolling pin until crushed. Put crushed cookies in bowl. I, admittedly didn’t crush mine finely enough… It still works… Just not as pretty.

Add the melted butter to the cookies and stir until well moistened. Press the wet cookies into a 9 inch pie dish (or you can use a deep dish, pie dish). Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, cream together the peanut butter, cream cheese and confectioner’s sugar until light and fluffy. It will look like it’s not going to work at first, but keep mixing! Takes about 3 minutes. Set aside.

In a medium mixing bowl, whip the heavy cream and 2 tablespoons confectioner’s sugar until stiff peaks form.

Gently fold the whipped cream into the peanut butter filling.

Spread it all into the prepared pie crust.

In a microwaveable bowl, put in all the ingredients for the topping. Microwave for 30 seconds. Whisk until smooth.

Pour all of the ganache on top of the pie. Freeze for 2 hours.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie

Leave a Reply

