Chocolate Chip (and Eggnogg, if you want) Snickerdoodles

I have a last minute Christmas cookie idea for you!!!! 


So… I’ve been baking my ballerina butt off this last week or so. I made DOZENS of Gingerbread men for a friend’s Christmas party. Baked and shipped a few dozen to some out of town friends. And baked over 100 cookies for my ballet classes (Yes… I bake cookies for my dancers.). 

After it was all said and done I had a bag of chocolate chips leftover. Naturally, I had to use them right away. I didn’t really feel like the run of the mill chocolate chip cookies. Really,  I was craving Snickerdoodles. But I ALWAYS want chocolate. So… I just decided to combine the two. 

These cookies are baked almost identically to a classic Snickerdoodle but I used some dark brown sugar, because chocolate chip cookies… AND I added a little eggnog because… ummmm… CHRISTMAS!!!! 

If you absolutely hate Eggnog, (first of all, who are you??? And why????) you can omit it. It’s not a big deal. 
Try them! They will go soooooo quickly!! 

And if I don’t see you before it’s all over… 

Merry Christmas!!!!! This is the season for love and good deeds!! Go out and share yourself and your positivity with the people you love and with people who need your light the most! 

Chocolate Chip (Eggnog) Snickerdoodles (adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction)

3 Cups All Purpose Flour 

2 Teaspoons Cream of Tartar 

1 Teaspoon Baking Soda 

1/2 Teaspoon Salt 

2 Teaspoons Cinnamon 

2 Sticks Unsalted Butter 

1 Cup granulated Sugar 

1/3 Cup Dark Brown Sugar 

1 Large Egg 

1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract 

1/4 Cup Eggnog (optional)

1 bag chocolate chips

Topping: 

1/4 Cup Granulated Sugar

2 Tablespoons Cinnamon 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment. 

Combine cinnamon and sugar in a small bowl. Set aside. 

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Set aside. 

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the sugars and butter until light and fluffy. About 2 minutes. Add the egg, vanilla and Eggnog (if you’re using). Mix until combined. Scraping down the sides of the bowl. 

Gradually add in the dry ingredients. Mix until just combined. Mix in the chocolate chips. 

Take about a tablespoon of dough and roll into a ball. Roll one side of the ball in the cinnamon and sugar mixture. Place 2 inches apart on prepared baking sheet. 

Bake for about 10 minutes or until edges are set and golden brown. 

Leave a Reply

