Quick and Easy Drop Buttermilk Biscuits 

If you have been reading my blog for a while, you know that I ADORE my southern roots! 

I may have moved to NYC YEARS ago and now live in New Jersey, but my heart will always belong to my home state and the south. 

For me, there’s nothing better than collard greens, cornbread or red beans and rice. I love a good buttermilk or sweet potato pie. I’m almost positive that I bleed butter!!! 

And like every other good southern girl (and really anybody in their right mind)…I love a good buttermilk biscuit. Soft on the inside and a little crunchy on the outside and always  covered in butter… 


What I don’t always like about buttermilk biscuits… making them. The whole rolling the dough and cutting them out can be messy, then if you over work the dough you’re stuck with things that look (and taste) more like paperweights… 

Never fear! I have the perfect recipe for the biscuitly challenged. They are fool proof and SOOOOOOOOO yummy! I promise!  No biscuit cutting required… just drop and go! And to make them more amazing… they take under 30 mins to make from start to finish!!! 


Try them! 

Quick and Easy Buttermilk Biscuits

1 1/2 Cup All Purpose Flour 

2 Teaspoons Baking Powder 

1 Teaspoon Salt 

1 stick COLD Butter, cut into pieces 

3/4 Cup Buttermilk (If you don’t have Buttermilk take whole milk or half and half and add the juice of half a lemon… stir and let sit for 5 minutes)
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment. 

Whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt. 

Add the cold butter pieces, cut in using a pastry cutter or two butter knives. You can also work it through with your hands. Work until Flour looks course and butter pieces are pea sized. 

Add the milk and quickly stir with a fork until just moistened. Dough should be sticky. DO NOT OVERMIX! 

Using a 1/4 Cup measuring cup, scoop dough and place 2 inches apart on baking sheet. You should have 6 Biscuits

Bake for 20 minutes, until golden brown. 

Serve warm… with lots of butter and honey!!!! 

One thought on “Quick and Easy Drop Buttermilk Biscuits 

Leave a Reply

