Viennese Whirls (The Great British Baking Show Challenge)

Yes… I know I’m waaaayyy behind on these posts. But… I HAVE been baking!! Just haven’t had the time to post.

I had some extra time today, so I decided to post a recipe from Episode 2 of GBBS.

Viennese Whirls…

 

IMG_1494.JPG

If you are not familiar (or don’t watch the show) Viennese Whirls are a type of shortbread sandwich cookie (or biscuit as our friends in the U.K. call them) that is filled with jam and buttercream. SOOOOOO YUMMY! The whirl comes from the design and how you pipe them onto your cookie sheet.

Sounds super simple right…

Ummmmmmm… no

Now… Disclaimer time.

These DID NOT work for me the first time around… Like… At all… They spread WAAAAYYY too much and didn’t at all hold the “whirl” part of the whirl.

I’m not sure if it was my conversion into U.S. baking measurements that was off, my piping or the fact that it was damn near 100 degrees outside on the east coast that day, probably a combination of all of that.  But the recipe I used, which was Mary Berry’s HERSELF… did not work… at all…

On attempt #2… we had, well, better success. Although not perfect at all. I really think it was the temperature in my kitchen that day. I chilled the dough before putting it in the oven and everything but the shape still didn’t hold for me. I could probably use to work on my piping also, honestly. I don’t pipe much. Between you and I, *whispers* I avoid it whenever possible. I know, I know. As an avid baker, I shouldn’t but I do. I promise I’ll do better at some point.

The jam and the buttercream came out AMAZING… Although, I used my own recipe for both.

Anyway, here is the recipe. I’m not going to give you  my conversions because, well the recipe wasn’t perfect enough. I’m going to try it again when the weather cools and see if that makes a difference. Until now, here’s Mary’s (yes we are on a first name basis in my head) recipe.

Raspberry Viennese Whirls

 

Leave a Reply

